Family, Old Friends, New Friends…All Good.

I know it has been awhile since I have posted.  It has been a very active Summer.  Camping, biking, and hiking in preparation to take friends up the South Sister in October for their first time.  All Good!  I am motivated to post now because of a great weekend and a fantastic past several weeks.

First to my brother Shawn, who is creating a new life for himself as a new dad, and embarking on a new career path all the while enjoying his life with a wondrous sense of newness.

Second to my 16 year old niece Lea, a beautiful, Intelligent, loving person, who has finished high school before her junior year!  (Is she really related to me?)  She just spent a week with me and it was a blast having her here.  We shopped, hiked cross country in the Cascades and she got to learn how to use a compass, but her favorite part was me telling her about and buying her first set of billy bob teeth.  (See the photo, this proves she is related to me!)

This weekend my friend Farrokh, of 26 years came to visit with his beautiful girlfriend Angela.  The bonds between true friends is difficult to describe without feeling very emotional for me.  I am blessed to have the friends I have in my life and am not embarrassed to tell them so.  My friend Lori joined us (a new friend of 10 years)  for dinner of grilled wild salmon, grilled asparagus, and a nice mushroom risotto by Chef Farrokh.  It was nice to cook together again after all these years.  It was a thrill for me to connect Lori with a friend from my previous life as a young man.

Meanwhile my best friend and wife Ingrid, missed the weekend since she had the opportunity to attend her Aunt and Uncles 60th wedding anniversary.  These are the last remaining relatives to her Dad’s family.  Thanks to Teri, Ingrid’s sister, they and brother Butch showed up unannounced as a surprise.  People were blown away!  They met cousins and others they may never have met otherwise, traveled to her birthplace for the first time since she was born, and truly reconnected to her roots.

Meanwhile my very artistic mother has just gotten some great news!  More on this in a later post.

Life is what we make of it.  Family, friends, community, business, food, wine, nature, love and joy in all that you do…All Good.  What you focus on expands.  What are you focused on?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sadlerbusinesscoaching.wordpress.com/2010/08/08/family-old-friends-new-friends-all-good/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What a wonderful evening filled with new and long-time friends and simply amazing food. Farrokh can cook for us everytime he visits Oregon!


Leave a Reply

